What I have learned from Nablopomo

I realise that this post is 2 days late, but today is a Sunday and that’s a good day for reflection. Friday was the half-way mark, the day to celebrate having managed 15 out of the 30-day challenge, but it was also a good day for guzzling wine, posting some unedited reminiscences, then throwing back more wine.

Friday Night

Friday Night
Credit here

I thought that it would be difficult to think of things to write every day, so I decided to write about my multitude of jobs, going through my ‘career’ from past to present, from baby jobs to grown-up jobs. In doing so, I learned that  my jobs fall mainly into 3 categories: drunken wench, mother/surrogate mother, and carer/social worker – not as varied as I thought!

writing, blogging

Sunday afternoon
Credit here

I learned something else: that I don’t actually need a topic to write on. I have more difficulty stopping writing than starting. Finding the time to write, and to edit what I have written, is the hardest thing.

I have always loved writing and persisted in writing a journal although it has caused nothing but trouble. I still  cringe about the time that my diary was found on a school holiday and the details of my 12-year-old crush gleefully read out to a roomful of assembled girls.(the girl who read it out to everyone then told me ‘It’s very good. When you read it, you feel like you’re actually there’. Which made me feel much better). I continue to write a journal to this day, despite the fact that I now have to worry about the kids finding it (and trust me, they have).

I discovered blogging last year, with a short-lived blog about my wedding planning phase, thirtysomethingbride. For me, blogging can be like writing a journal, but the fact that it is online curbs the tendency to go overboard with the confessional and encourages me to broaden my topics and thoughts.

Unfortunately, lack of time can mean caution is thrown to the winds and posts are hastily typed and published, sometimes for the sake of writing a post rather than having anything to say.

I wouldn’t want to stop now, though. These last 17 days have taught me that it is worth making time to write properly, and that I enjoy throwing and catching thoughts and ideas around the internet.

4 thoughts on “What I have learned from Nablopomo

  1. I also have tried to keep up with NaBloMoPo, but because of life’s little events, it’s also difficult to try to squeeze another task during the day. It’s interesting how you keep a journal as well. The feeling of scribbling away and flipping through the pages of a filled journal gives me a great feeling ~ random
    Nice post!

  2. Yes, I know what you mean! It’s satisfying to look back over a journal. I’m a stationary geek too, I love buying patterned notebooks to keep my reflections in, and carry them around with me. Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. Pingback: Who Am I and Why Am I Here? | Rose Red Stories

Reply to Rose

